Brown Rice and Lentil Salad

Angela:

Now that I’m dairy-free, I’m on the hunt for delicious new dishes to add to my repertoire. I stumbled across this one and it looks amazing! I’ve been trying to figure out what to do with my massive amounts of lentils and I think a version of this dish will do just the trick. I can use up those lentils and fresh herbs and stay dairy-free at the same time. DOUBLE AWESOME.

Originally posted on Melissa's Menu:

I got the inspiration for this recipe while channel surfing one afternoon. Giada De Laurentiis was making a similar salad on her show Everyday Italian. I switched it up considerably to make it my own. I am always thankful for the inspiration of the Cooking Channel though!

Into the rice cooker goes one cup texmati brown rice with two bay leaves and one and three-quarter cups of vegetable broth. I believe in my rice cooker this take about a half hour to cook. Once it clicks to cook, allow to sit an additional ten minutes or so. Fluff with a fork and transfer to a large mixing bowl to cool. The rest of the components for the dish can be ready while the rice is cooking.

Heat a skillet over medium heat on the stove top. One turn of olive oil goes into the skillet. For this recipe I used my…

View original 163 more words

6 responses

  1. Dal +1. Seriously. It’s easy to make a huge batch at one time, it’s one of mine and my guy’s favorite dishes, and it keeps all week long. I like palak dal (lentils with spinach) especially. Oh, and it’s so cheap to make, too!

Leave a Reply

