Lightened Up Piña Coladas


My absolute favorite frozen drink is the pina colada. When I saw this lightened up version from Chew Nibble Nosh, I almost peed my pants with excitement. She uses fat free evaporated milk infused with shredded coconut, but I would imagine that some Trader Joe’s light coconut milk might work just as well too… now I just have to try it! This version is about 5 PP. Not bad for a fruity, coconutty alcoholic drink! You can bet I’ll be trying this soon.

Originally posted on Chew Nibble Nosh:

When it’s hot and summer-steamy out, we love to break out the blender and whip up delicious frozen drinks when we entertain.  One of my favorite “sit by the pool and relax” drinks is a cool, frosty Piña Colada.  The tropical pineapple-coconut combo always tastes so fresh and light to me.  The problem lies in that Piña Coladas usually aren’t really all that fresh.  Most rely on premixed, heavy on the calories drink mixes, which means they aren’t all that light either.  They taste great, but did you know that a typical restaurant/bar Piña Colada can pack up to 650 calories and close to 20 grams of fat?  That’s more than a Big Mac!  UGH!

Since I read that a while back, I’ve tried to steer clear of my favorite frozen drink.   If I’m going to blow 650 calories on something, it’s not going to be something I can…

View original 945 more words

One response

Leave a Reply

