Diet Coke Brownies

Some people are just sheer genius. Who was the first person was that said to themselves, “Hmm… maybe I can replace all the oil, water and eggs in a pre-packaged cake or brownie mix with a can of pop and see what happens.”? I want to know who it was so I can give them a big shiny medal! I don’t know why it works, but it does. It works well.

It really isn’t too much of a surprise, though. I’ve made other tasty things with a box of cake mix and a can of somethingoranother like Pineapple Bundt Cake and Pumpkin Spice Cookies, but when I saw that you could make brownies with a boxed mix and a can of diet coke, my mouth literally dropped open. It was like a sign from heaven.

You see, there are many things that I love about my fiancee. Two of them are her obsessive love for diet coke and her sweet tooth that usually only craves brownies (or kit kats). So, DIET COKE BROWNIES??!?!? A-freaking-mazing. Two of her favorite things in one! Of course, it was a requirement that I test them out. And I did. And they were oh-so-tasty. But the best part? Only 130 calories/4 PP each. An indulgent dessert without actually indulging. Oh happy day :)

Click here for this Dr. Pepper Brownies recipe by “The Novice Chef Blog”!

Diet Coke Brownies (as shown on Eat Yourself Skinny)
Servings: 18
PointsPlus Per Serving: 4 (although EYS says they’re 3, but I put mine through the WW recipe builder)
Calories Per Serving: 130 (but EYS says 115. It really just depends on the mix you’re using)


  • 1 box brownie mix, 70 PP
  • 1 12-oz can of diet coke (or whatever pop you’ve got since it doesn’t make a difference in points!)

1. Follow directions on box as far as what temperature to set the oven to.

2. Combine brownie mix and pop in a bowl until completely mixed. Spray a baking dish with Pam and then pour in the batter.

3. Follow directions on the box as far as how long to cook PLUS 5-10 more minutes. Just make sure the check that they are cooked to your liking (anywhere from 38-50 minutes). Take out and enjoy!

Now, the combinations don’t stop at diet coke and brownie mix. If you want to keep things all natural and organic, try a can of diet Zevia and some organic brownie mix. Or maybe you want a little more depth of flavor? Then try diet or regular cherry coke. You can even do the same thing with cake mixes! I’ve heard of people using confetti cake mix and a can of sprite or selzer water. Maybe a can of coconut or lime flavored selzer and a white cake mix? Or some root beer and chocolate cake mix? There are just so many combinations you can try! I LOVE it when that happens!

11 responses

  1. I love these brownies!

    If you can find it, Pillsbury makes a sugar-free brownie mix. Its made with Splenda.

    The entire box of mix unprepared is only 36 PP (Calories 1080, Total Fat 30g, Total Carbs 276g, Fiber 36g, Protein 12g), so if you’re using this mix instead of regular mix with sugar, your PPV will go down to 2.

    (or you can have 1/12th of the pan for 3pp!)

    Happy Indulging!

  2. I made these the other day and asked myself the exact same thing…”who was like shoot, I don’t have any eggs OR oil OR butter…soo uhh..I think I\’ll just use a diet coke instead” hahah

    I am not a very good baker though and mine turned out like uncooked on the bottoms. Not delicious and gooey uncooked but like not cooked.

    • Mine did that too at first. That’s why I had to almost double the cooking time. I also moved the pan to the bottom rack so the bottoms would get extra attention. You might want to try that next time! Baking directions always change based on your oven. Every single one I’ve used has required different baking times for the exact same recipes. Lame.

  3. I just made these tonight, and the bottom was gooey, but we kind of liked it that way. It was like a no-guilt chocolate pudding cake!!! (Three of us ate more than half the pan, so at what point should we start feeling guilty?) DELICIOUS! Thanks for sharing!

    • yes, that’s normal. they’re also quite gooey on the bottom. i’d guess if you don’t want them to be as gooey, use a bit less than a whole can. i haven’t done that yet, since i like gooey brownies, but i’ll have to try!

  4. My little girl is allergic to fake sugars….I use a can of flavored seltzer in cake mix, will flavored seltzer work with the brownie mix? I don’t see why not….right? =)

    • If you click on the link that goes to the original recipe on Eat Yourself Skinny, there’s a lot of comments from people saying exactly that. It “should” have the same outcome. I’m not sure that it’s just the carbonization that makes this works; it may be some of the ingredients in a flavored cola. I would definitely recommend trying a can of Zevia, though. It’s sweetened with stevia, so she shouldn’t be allergic to it at all!

Leave a Reply

