Portobello and Peppers Sandwich

Click here for this Grilled Portobello and Roasted Red Pepper Sandwich with Pistachio Pesto from “Closet Cooking”!

I lost track of my tracking, people.  Gah.  It’s in my nature to do this… but I’m back to tracking today!  It’s been a bit crazy at our house, so I’m going to blame it on that.  The craziness consisted of our floor leaking.  Yep.  The carpet was randomly getting soaked right outside of our kitchen entryway and along the wall.  I mean SOAKED.  Bella and I noticed this on Valentine’s Night when my sock got sopping wet from me bringing our tasty dinner to the table in the dining room.  One step and my toes were squishy.

So, we called the emergency maintenance guys and they came over, but couldn’t figure out what the issue was.  The next day, they concluded that it was probably the leaky dishwasher of our neighbors.  Of course, we were the only ones with a leaky floor.  Just our luck.  They replaced their dishwasher, called over the carpet guys who soaked up as much water as they could and then ripped up the carpet so they could put two de-humidifiers in place before they came back to clean.

Click here to see some easy WWF Portobello Pizzas from “TJ’s Test Kitchen”!

For two days, our dining room area looked like a friggin blow up bouncy castle.  The cats enjoyed it; laying down in the middle and having carpet blowing up all around them, but Bella and I were completely frustrated by all the CRAP flying in the air!  Gross.  It smelled like a swamp down there.  We pretty much ate out for the next few days because there was no possible way to cook without it getting contaminated.  A couple days later, the carpet guys came to take their fans and clean and the apartment smelled good again…. for one day.  And the leaky floor was back.

I worked from home yesterday while a plumber figured out what exactly the issue was, fixed it (not before he put two huge holes in our pretty green wall) and then the maintenance manager came and put some drywall in the wall to cover the holes.  Now, he needs to nail it in place, spackle and then paint over it.  Oh, and the carpet guys have to come back since there’s another de-humidifier drying out the place again!  Goo.  I’m just glad we rent and don’t have to pay for a cent!  That’s the only upside.

Now that our leaky floor issues have been taken care of, I was actually able to get back to cooking!  Last night I made some DELICIOUS soup with pork, veggies and rice.  Definitely going to make that again.  But the sandwich I made for lunch today was sooooo tasty that I just HAVE to share.  I did not take pictures since I gobbled it up, but I included pictures of other delicious things you can make with portobello mushrooms!  This sandwich was so quick to make, had great texture and fantastic taste.  And it is super low in points!

Click here for this WWF Vegetarian Philly Cheese Steak Sandwich from “LaaLoosh”

Portobello and Peppers Sandwich
Servings: 1
PointsPlus Per Serving: 3

Ingredients

  • 2 slices of your favorite 1 PP bread (like Sara Lee’s MG 45 cals-per-slice bread), 2 PP
  • 1 wedge Laughing Cow Light Swiss spreadable cheese, 1 PP
  • 1 large portobello mushroom cap
  • 2 mini sweet peppers, de-seeded and cut in half longways
  • salt and pepper

Directions
1. Get out a cast iron pan and turn to medium high. Spray lightly with Pam. Then wash your portobello and peppers.

2. Toast your bread! This is crucial as it keeps the bread from getting too soggy too fast. Spread the cheese over both pieces.

3. Put the mushroom in the hot pan cap first. Then sprinkle some salt and pepper into the underside (it sits in there nicely). Put the peppers on the pan as well. Cook each side for about 2-3 minutes. Once it’s done, put the cap side down on the bottom piece of bread and pile the peppers on top. Put the other piece of bread over top and enjoy!

Try to keep the sandwich in this position as the juices will fall out if you flip it over. Eat within an hour for the best texture and taste! The bread will get too soggy after that. DELICIOUS! I thoroughly enjoyed mine. If I was to ever go vegetarian or vegan, I’d pretty much live off mushrooms. Waaaay better than seitan!

3 responses

  1. Wow, that must have been a SUPER leaky dishwasher, yikes!

    Yum! I love mushrooms! Did you know that Hare Krishnas (and I guess many other Hindu-type people) do not eat mushrooms or onions. I’d never last!

Leave a Reply

