Cinnamon Peach Pecan Zucchini Muffins

Before I dive into any recipes, I have to say thank you.  Thank you to all of you who sent me such beautiful supportive comments after my last post.  After a hard week, it was so wonderful to read all the love on wordpress and facebook; to get private messages and texts from friends and family who wanted to let me know that they love and support me and my girlfriend.  My grandparents even sent us flowers!  It was so humbling.  So, thanks you all from the bottom of my heart.  It was exactly what I needed to jump start my tracking and exercising again!

A nice healthy glow from all the good eating and exercise.  And also from knowing how much I am loved and supported!

In fact, I earn 33 activity points this week from all the working out I did!  After my small weight loss of 3/10ths on Friday, I woke my ass up early and went to the gym before work on both Friday AND Monday, and I did 25 minutes of weights and some cardio each time.  It felt great and I don’t even mind the fact that my arms and legs are sore from it all.  I also did a MUCH better job tracking my food.  I’ve barely used any of my 33 AP or 49 Weekly Points.  And now I have a gym buddy (Sarah from the Reluctant Losers Page) and we’re going to the gym every Monday and Wednesday morning!  So, I will continue to get great exercise.  Lucky for us, one of the benefits of working for Wolfram is a SUPER discounted gym membership.  I basically pay 18 bucks a month for TWO “gold” memberships  (me and the girlfriend) at a local gym.  I have no excuses for not working out.  Period.

So, life is back on track, the weather is becoming manageable again, and cooking has been happening a lot lately!  On Saturday, I made a tasty gourmet sandwich for lunch using chicken, “zucchini linguine”, feta and tomatoes… that delicious recipe is definitely coming soon as I convinced the girlfriend to take a picture before we all dug in.  Last night I made a mexican pizza with homemade dough, refried beans, green enchilada sauce, chobani ‘gurt, corn, tomatoes, sliced up marinated beef, jalapeno, cheese and adobo spice.  It was gooooood!  Although, some guacamole or avocado would have cinched it.  Tonight, we’re finishing up our latest round of ravioli making using the ravioli recipe I posted last year (that was my girlfriend’s doing.  She loves those ravs!).  So good!  And tomorrow, I’m cooking up another batch of my Fried Rice with Prawns and Ham, although I think chicken will be replacing the ham since I no longer have any ham in the house.  That’s quite possibly our favorite leftovers meal, which is hard to come by since the girlfriend isn’t a huge fan of the leftovers.  But that’s the thing about fried rice, it always tastes better the second day!

Now… for the recipe that claimed the title of this blog!  I LOVE these muffins.  They absolutely are the best right out of the oven or warmed up in the microwave and slathered in a bit of light butter.  My girlfriend doesn’t like nuts in baked things and she really liked these ones!  I didn’t take a pictures because, really, they look almost exactly like the Lemon Walnut Zucchini ones that I posted a while back.  Just a little more “peachy” than “lemony” :)  So just trust me, they look tasty!

Cinnamon Peach Pecan Zucchini Muffins
Servings: 12
PointsPlus Per Serving: 3

Dry Ingredients

  • 1 cup all-purpose unbleached flour, 11 PP
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, 5 PP
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp baking soda

Wet Ingredients

  • 1 6-oz container of peach chobani, 4 PP
  • 1/2 cup sugar, 11 PP
  • 1 1/2 cups grated zucchini (and carrot if you want), drained
  • 1 egg, 2 PP
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract, 1 PP
  • 1/4 cup chopped pecans, 8 PP
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

1. Preheat oven to 315 degrees.

2. Grate zucchini and drain. I used my awesome food processor for quick grating and squeezed it all by hand to get out as much liquid as possible.

3. Put all the dry ingredients in one bowl and mix with a wooden spoon. Then put all the wet ingredients in another bowl and mix with the same wooden spoon. Mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients just until fully blended.

4. Spray your muffin pan with some Pam and scoop the batter evenly into the pan. Cook for 40-45 minutes. They should be perfectly done once the timer goes off, so take em out and enjoy! I highly recommend heating them up if they’ve cooled down before you got a chance to eat one, then slice apart and put a little bit of butter on each side. It just brings it all together!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

