Black and White Cake Cookies

Perfect stripes for a perfect cookie!

People, I have been a BAD foodie lately. I’ve been eating what I want and too much of it. My past few weigh-ins have shown it too – almost three pounds back on my bootie! Not good. Bad foodie, bad. So, this morning I got back on the workout horse with 30 minutes of circuit training and 15 minutes of yoga.

DAYAM. With all this walking I’ve been doing, I’ve forgotten how much I need to change up my routine! Walking around Chicago is QUITE different from working out all my muscle groups in intervals! I feel accomplished for the day and it’s only just begun. And by accomplished, I mean I sweated a LOT and drank a lot of water. And THEN I made myself a tasty breakfast of bacon and eggs and a cold ginger lemon tea! Yum yum. Back on the wagon, dammit and I’m staying here!

Make sure to put some wax or parchment paper under the cookies so you don’t get frosting all over the table!

It’s always easier to keep up with a routine when life is calm and travel is minimal. My girlfriend and I have traveled the past two weekends to visit friends and family and food options weren’t the best. I know that’s why some of the weight came back. Walking is great, but it’s neutralized when you’re eating like poop! So, the night before we left to visit Cincinnati I decided to make some tasty WWF cookies to bring with me. My mom organized a lovely game night with some of my cousins and told them to bring snacks. Knowing my cousins, I figured it probably wouldn’t be anything too healthy. I decided to make Black and White Cake Cookies… with a special ingredient!

CHOBANI! Chobani Greek Yogurt with Honey was the special ingredient in these cookies. The original recipe came from my awesome Cooking Light cookbook, but it called for applesauce (instead of what would normally be oil). I’m not a huge fan of apple flavored baked desserts and I knew that yogurt was commonly used in place of oil too, so I figured I’d give it a shot! I also adjusted the frosting ingredients so that they harden a little easier next time. The almond frosting did fine, but the cocoa side took a lot longer.

They were SOOO GOOOOOOD. The yogurt gave them a delicate savory flavor, kind of like what you’d taste in a sour cream cake. Sweet, savory, and topped with cocoa and almond flavored icing. Heaven in my mouth. I made three dozen and they were gone by the end of the night. My parents loved them and the cousins loved them! And the Chobani was definitely the right choice. Next time I might even try using the black cherry Chobani rather than the honey. But that ‘gurt is going into the zucchini bread I’ll be making this week! Betcha didn’t see that coming?!?!

Perfection!

Black and White Cake Cookies
Servings: 36
PointsPlus Per Serving: 2

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, 16 PP
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp table salt
  • 1 6oz container of Chobani greek yogurt (I used honey, but you can use any flavor you desire!), 4 PP
  • 1 cup sugar, 22 PP
  • 1/4 cup light butter, 9 PP
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract, 1 PP
  • 2 egg whites, 1 PP
  • 2 tbsp 2% milk
  • 1 1/4 cup powdered sugar, 16 PP
  • 1/4 tsp almond extract
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa, 1 PP

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 375.

2. To prepare cookies, lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups, level with a knife. Combine flour, baking powder, and salt, stirring with a whisk.

3. Spoon yogurt into a fine sieve over a bowl, let stand 15 minutes. Discard liquid.

4. Combine drained yogurt, granulated sugar and butter in a large bowl, beat with a mixer at medium speed 2 minutes or until well blended. Beat in vanilla and egg whites. Add flour mixture; beat at low speed until blended.

5. Drop dough by level tablespoons 2 inches apart onto parchment-lined baking sheets (very important. otherwise they’ll stick!). Bake at 375 for 10 minutes or until set (not browned). Cool on pans 2 minutes or until firm. Remove from pans; cool completely on wire racks.

6. To prepare frosting, combine 3/4 cup powdered sugar, 1 tbsp milk and almond extract in a bowl, stirring well with a whisk until smooth. Working with 1 cookie at a time, hold cookie over bowl and spread about 1 teaspoon white frosting over half of cookie (scrape excess frosting from edges). Let stand 10 minutes or until frosting is set.

7. Combine 1/2 cup powdered sugar and cocoa in a bowl. Gradually add 1 tbsp milk, stirring with a whisk until smooth. Working with 1 cookie at a time, hold cookie over bowl and spread about 1 teaspoon chocolate frosting over other half of cookie (scrape excess frosting from edges). Let stand 10 minutes or until frosting is set.

3 responses

Leave a Reply

