Cuban Marinated Steak

If you haven’t noticed already, one of my absolute favorite things to do during the summers is GRILL!! Last summer I used a lot of regular charcoal and lighter fluid to start my grill, but then I did some reading and learned about all the chemicals that can be cooked onto the food by doing that. So, I adjusted.

Now, I can get hot coals in half the time without using ANY chemicals! I use all natural wood lump charcoal, put a bottom layer into a charcoal chimney, put in two of my favorite 100% biomass firelighters and light them, fill up the rest of the chimney with the charcoal and then step away for about 10-15 minutes while it gets nice and hot.  All natural grilling perfection!  Seriously, no chemicals needed.

Since I’ve perfected the “all natural” grill set up, there’s been more grilling in our home than ever before.  This recipe was the second steak recipe we’ve tried this season and it was great!  I knew I wanted something a little different than my regular marinades and I wanted it to be something that didn’t necessarily have to marinate overnight (who remembers to marinate meat a whole day ahead of time unless you have your menu for the week written down and in a visible place!?!)  I came across this one on Kalyn’s Kitchen, it looked delicious and we loved it!  She used flank steak for her recipe, which looked amazing, but I only had three small shoulder steaks, so I beat them down with a meat tenderizer and it worked perfectly.  I had to make a few changes to the marinade based on what I had in my kitchen and it still tasted like heaven.  I highly recommend this recipe!  It’s delicious, different, and perfect for summer.

Grilled to perfection!

Cuban Marinated Steak (Adapted from Kalyn’s Kitchen)
Servings: 3
PointsPlus Per Serving: 9 (unless you cut the steaks in half. then it’s 4.)


  • around 1 lb of lean steaks, 19 PP
  • 3 tbsp fresh lime juice, 1 PP
  • 1/8 cup olive oil, 7 PP
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder (optional. i didn’t have any so i added more garlic powder.)
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1/4 tsp ground chipotle chile powder (or use your favorite hot sauce)
  • 1 tsp lime zest (optional. i didn’t use any as i’m not a fan of zest.)

1. Combine marinade ingredients. Take steaks (I used a package of three smaller shoulder steaks, covered them in saran wrap and beat them to about 1/2 inch thick with a meat tenderizer). Put meat into a ziploc bag and pour marinade in. Massage into meat before putting into refrigerator. Let marinate for at least 2 hours up to overnight.

2. Take meat out of refrigerator and let it come to room temperature before grilling. Oil the grill with a paper towel dipped in olive or grapeseed oil (or don’t. it’s not necessary), then preheat gas or charcoal barbecue grill to medium-high (you can only keep your hand there for a few seconds.)

3. Grill meat to desired done-ness, approximately 4-5 minutes per side for rare to medium rare or 6 minutes for medium. Cooking time will depend on the thickness of your steak, the best way to judge the done-ness is to use an instant-read meat thermometer, cooking to 140-145 for medium rare or 155-160 for medium (I just cut mine open to check the juices and that worked just fine.)

4. Remove meat from grill and let rest about 5 minutes. (You can cover with foil to keep it warm if needed.) Slice across the grain and serve hot, with slices of fresh lime to squeeze on the meat (if you have them).

PS – stayed tuned… I’m planning my first giveaway in the next week or two!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

