Adobo Roasted Potatoes

Perfectly cooked with just enough spice. Add a little ADOBO to your life!

If there’s one culinary thing I’ve learned in the past couple of months, it’s that the best way to make proper “roasted” potatoes is by using a ROASTING PAN.  Imagine that?!?!?  All these years I’ve been making them with cookie sheets thinking they were just as good, but it wasn’t until I made a pork roast with roasted veggies that I actually used my roasting pan… and the vegetables were pure perfection.

I got the roasting pan for either Christmas or my birthday last year and I’ve used it a few times, but there are some kitchen things that I find a hard time understanding their purpose…. like a lemon zester.  Umm, that’s why you get a cheese grater with four different sizes on the sides.  One of them is pretty much a zester.  I’m sure true bakers would strongly disagree with me, though.  To each her own!

Either way, I NOW see the beauty of a quality roasting pan.  And when I decided to do steak and told the girlfriend she was in charge of the side, she chose potatoes (and cut them up) and I spiced them to play off the steak marinade and roasted them in that pan like a pro.  I probably could have put a teeny tiny bit more adobo on them, but it’s all personal preference.  They tasted just like seasoned french fries… without all grease and loads of salt!  I really enjoyed them!  And they would be perfect to cook up in a skillet the next morning (if you have ANY leftovers) as breakfast potatoes and pair em with an egg or two.  Oh, and make sure to bring the ketchup.  Nothing like potatoes and ketchup!

A little ketchup, a lotta love!

Adobo Roasted Potatoes
Servings: 4 (1 cup per serving)
PointsPlus Per Serving: 5


  • 4 cups quartered small white potatoes, 10 PP
  • 2 tbsp Land O Lakes light butter w/ canola oil, softened, 3 PP
  • 2 tbsp olive oil, 7 PP (although you could probably use just 1 tbsp and cut the PP to 4 per serving)
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp adobo spice
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tbsp peach mango hot sauce (optional)

1. Preheat oven to 425.

2. Put potatoes in a mixing bowl.  Pour in softened butter and olive oil.  Stir.  Then put in all the spices and hot sauce if you’re using it.  Mix well.

3. Pour into roasting pan.  Roast for 30 minutes, take out and mix up, then put it back in for another 15-20 minutes.  Serve and enjoy!

This is one of those great dishes that you can prepare easily, put in the oven and get other stuff done while it cooks.  Gotta love that!  Now, got get yourself a roasting pan if you don’t have one already!

One response

  1. Thank you so much for this recipe! I was really missing french fries, but didnt want to waste the WW points. I hadn’t thought of roasted potatoes. I used Old Bay seasoning instead of adobo & garlic and they were DELICIOUS!

Leave a Reply

