Angela’s Alfredo Sauce

Yum doesn’t even begin to describe this.

I am a proud Italian (amongst other things). I love our history of food and family, of sauce and noodles, of loud fights that include lots of hands in faces intense expressions of emotion and the like. I am NOT proud of the fact that it wasn’t until the age of 25 that I ever attempted making my own alfredo sauce.

All the pastas and sauces I’ve made and eaten and still I couldn’t have even told you what it consisted of!?! Bad Italian, bad.  Unacceptable.  So, when a non-Italian friend made some for me and I realized how easy it was, (and how much better I could make it taste) I decided to give it a whirl. Well, first, I smacked myself in the face for not making it sooner and then I gave it a whirl. And let me tell you…. I nailed it. I TOTALLY nailed it.

I used heavy whipping cream, a LOT of butter and fresh parmesan cheese.  Every time I made it, people went crazy with delight… and then they had stinky gas later (a bit too much dairy and garlic?)  Okay, I’m usually the one who has the gas, especially when I’ve eaten two servings of garlic, buttery, creamy, cheesy goodness.  Lordy lord.  But this alfredo sauce was WORTH it.  That’s saying something.

Needless to say, I haven’t made full-fat alfredo sauce since I started WW.  In fact, the average alfredo sauce is 9 PP per 1/3 cup!  YIKES!  I can only imagine how many points I was eating in one sitting.  So, I made it a mission this past month to perfect a skinny-fied version.  The first attempt wasn’t right because I didn’t stir it enough and let it boil and bubble and it ruined the texture.  The second attempt was great texture-wise, but it was too spicy for my girlfriend (I swear the red pepper flakes jumped into the pot all on their own).  But this last attempt was perfect!  I nailed it again.  It had the perfect texture, just the right amount of spice and it was soooo tasty!  I poured it over veggie spiral noodles, chicken and broccoli and enjoyed every last bite.   And I promise you will too!

Veggie spirals, chicken, broccoli and my alfredo sauce. Perfection!

Angela’s Alfredo Sauce
Servings: 4 (1/3 cup per serving)
PointsPlus Per Serving: 3 (a helluva lot better than 9!)


  • 2 tbsp light butter, 4 PP
  • 1 1/2 to 2 tsp minced garlic
  • 1/2 tsp dried parsley
  • 1/4 tsp dried basil
  • 1/4 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/8 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1 1/2 cups 1% or 2% milk, 5 PP
  • 1/2 cup grated reduced-fat parmesan cheese, 4 PP
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tbsp cornstarch mixed with a little water

1. Get out a sauce pan and turn onto medium-low heat (around a 4 of 10) and put butter in pan to start melting. After it’s melted a little bit, put in garlic, basil, oregano, parsley and red pepper flakes. Mix around and let simmer for about a minute or so. (This helps the flavor of the herbs and garlic to be released.)

2. Pour in the milk. Grab a whisk (your main tool for this sauce) and mix in the parmesan cheese. Let all the flavors blend and then after a few minutes, mix in the cornstarch.

3. The key to the perfect texture is to keep whisking it. Don’t let it boil, otherwise the milk with start to curdle and you’ll end up with a grainy texture to your sauce. Keep whisking and after about five minutes, the alfredo will start to thicken. Continue whisking. Taste test it and adjust to your liking.

4. Pour over any noodle or vegetable and enjoy!

I’ve recently read about people enjoying red sauce over broccoli slaw.  I can’t say that idea excites me, but I can DEFINITELY say that I would eat this alfredo sauce over broccoli slaw!  Shit, I’d eat it over corn on the cob it’s that good.  So, try it over some of those steamed veggies or spaghetti squash or broccoli slaw.  You really can’t go wrong with cheesy anything over veggies.

Oh, and I reclaimed my “Italian” card :)

5 responses

  1. I wanted to let you know that this recipe has become a staple at our house – My boys love it! I make fettucine, chicken, broccoli covered with Angela’s alfredo sauce almost every week :)

  2. I went searching for a lo-fat Alfredo & stumbled upon your recipe. I must say you gave me a good belly laugh.. You, my dear, are a HOOT! What a sense of humor! And I finally learned why all of my previous attempts turned out curdled…i need to use a wisk. Thanks for being informative & most enjoyable to read. And lo-fat! You covered all the bases.

Leave a Reply

