Skinny Fried Perch and a Weekly Weigh-In

Plus 1.1 lbs. I can deal. You know what’s interesting? Last week, I weighed myself on Friday because I missed it on Thursday. I was shocked that I lost weight. So, when I weighed myself on Thursday and saw a small gain, I wasn’t surprised…. but then I weighed myself the next day (after a long walk, 2 glasses of water and a big bowl of cereal) and I weighed two pounds less than the morning before! Hot damn. Bodies are weird. I guess that’s why they say to be consistent with your weigh-ins. My weight fluctuates from day to day, but day-of-the-week to day-of-the-week seems to be pretty consistent. Anyone else notice this?

Photo Courtesy of: Jess Costantini from Beautiful Orange Productions

Anyway…. I finally bought my two new cookbooks! They were my reward for losing 20 lbs and I happened to find two AWESOME ones at Sam’s Club! The first is the Hungry Girl 300 under 300 cookbook. It has some awesome recipes that I’m excited to try out! The other one was the beautifully illustrated Cooking Light 500 Best Recipes. I have to say, Cooking Light has some really great stuff. They always have fantastic, mouthwatering pictures, and they have all the nutrition facts listed for each recipe. Gotta love that! I’m excited to share some of those recipes with you.

When my parents came up for the 5K, they brought with them a whole bunch of frozen fish from my Aunt Jodi who was cleaning out her fridge (since she was packing for her recent move to Maryland). She brought salmon, mahi mahi and perch! We usually don’t eat a lot of flaky fish because of our own taste preferences, but who turns down free food?? I was happy to pack it into my freezer (thanks, Aunt Jodi!) So what do you do when half your freezer is packed with frozen fishies? You thaw some out and cook em. Duh.

I took some of that perch, breaded it with cornmeal and spices and skinny-fried it (which means I baked it)! It was quick, easy, and quite tasty. I didn’t have any pickle relish in the house to make tartar sauce with, but I did mix together some light Hidden Valley Ranch, a little light sour cream and some Adobo spice to make a yummy dipping sauce.

Photo Courtesy of: Jess Costantini from Beautiful Orange Productions

Skinny Fried Perch
Servings: 2
PointsPlus Per Serving: 5

Ingredients

  • 12 oz raw perch (I used six 2oz fillets), 7 PP
  • 1/4 cup yellow cornmeal, 3 PP
  • 1 tbsp parsley, finely chopped (or 1 tsp dried)
  • 1/2 tsp cajun spice
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 egg (no PP since you end up discarding most of it)
  • 1/2 tsp lemon juice

Directions
1. Heat oven to 400 degrees.

2. Take a piece of wax paper and mix together your cornmeal, parsley, cajun spice, salt and pepper on it. Crack the egg into a bowl and whisk in the lemon juice. Then pull out one baking sheet and coat with canola spray.

3. Make sure your perch is all thawed out (if not, run it under cold water for about 5-7 minutes) and then pat each piece dry with a paper towel. Dip one fillet at a time into the egg and then place onto cornmeal mixture. Pat down for cornmeal to mix and then flip and do the same to the other side. Use a spoon or your fingers to make sure the sides are coated too. Then place onto baking sheet.

4. Once all fish are breaded, lightly coat fish with canola spray and stick pan into oven for 10 minutes. Fish should be perfectly cooked at this point. If you want it just a little bit crispier, leave in for another two minutes (just be careful not to dry it out!). Serve immediately.

Photo Courtesy of: Jess Costantini from Beautiful Orange Productions

Perch is just one fish. You can also try flounder, mahi mahi, catfish, or another white fish. Try mixing up the spices that you put in the cornmeal too. This was my first attempt, so I kept it pretty simple. If you come up with some awesome ideas, please leave a comment! I’ll be sure to try out some other combinations when I make this again.

One response

Leave a Reply

