Banana-Applesauce Bread

Fresh from the oven!

Let me start off by apologizing for the lack of blogging in the past week. I’ve been working late and haven’t gotten around to blogging! But I am making up for it now with a DELICIOUS recipe! (And then tomorrow I’ll blog about the 5K.)

When my parents came up this weekend, they decided to bring with them some VERY ripe bananas. I think their logic was, “Josh (one of my Aunt’s sons) will eat them.” Which would have made sense about FIVE years ago when he was a toddler that could eat three bananas in one sitting. But now he’s a grown boy who likes other foods too, so they didn’t get touched by anyone on Friday!

The perfect Banana Bread cleavage :)

Of course, I made a LOT of food; Saucy Italian Chicken, Savory Marinated Chicken, Southwestern Black Bean Salad, Summer Pineapple Bundt Cake and Individual Chocolate Peanut Butter Mousse Pies. Plus we had potato salad, chips, cheese and crackers and lots to drink. Who’s gonna eat a banana with spots when all THAT is in front of your face? NOT ME. Not Josh. Soooo, I was left with a bunch of bananas turning into a work of impressionist art.

I’ve been wanting to make banana bread for a while now, but we always ended up eating all our bananas before they had a chance to go bad. So, when I woke up on Sunday with some time to kill since my girlfriend had gone for a run in the park, I decided to make use of the bananas before they died a miserable death and turned them into this wonderful, moist banana bread!

The recipe comes from my WW New Complete Cookbook. I followed it exactly and I couldn’t be more pleased. Definitely one of the tastiest banana breads I’ve had. The ONLY way this could get any better would be to add 1/2 cup of chocolate chips (which brings the PP value to 8 per serving since the chocolate chips are 12 PP per half cup). But the chocolate isn’t necessary. Maybe a little bit of Nutella spread on a slice would do the trick too! Yummy yum yum.

Banana-Applesauce Bread
Servings: 12
PointsPlus Per Serving: 7
Calories Per Serving: 255


  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour, 13 PP
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour, 10 PP
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 6 very ripe small bananas, 16 PP (since they’re not in their natural form)
  • 1 cup sugar, 22 PP
  • 1/2 cup fat-free egg substitute (or 1 egg plus 2 whites), 3 PP
  • 1/3 cup canola oil, 19 PP
  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Please refrain from trying to sniff your computer monitor. This is not smell-o-vision.

1. Preheat oven to 350. Spray 5×9 inch loaf pan with nonstick spray; dust with flour, shaking out excess.

2. Whisk all-purpose flour, whole wheat flour, baking soda, and salt in medium bowl.

3. Mash bananas in large bowl; whisk in sugar, egg, oil, applesauce and vanilla until blended. Add banana mixture to flour mixture, stirring just until flour mixture is moistened (do not over-mix). Scrape batter into prepared pan and spread evenly.

4. Bake until deep golden brown and toothpick inserted into center of bread comes out clean, about 1 hour 15 minutes. Let cool in pan on wire rack 10 minutes. Remove bread from pan and let cool completely on rack.

Since you’re all probably good at resisting to eat the whole loaf in one sitting, I can tell you that the best way to keep this fresh the longest is to put it in a big ziploc bag and keep in on the counter.  Just slice off a piece and nuke it for 35 seconds and spread a little bit of light butter on it for a most excellent recap of when you ate your first slice!

5 responses

  1. So I was on looking up banana bread and clicked on your’s not realizing this was your blog! How fun! I don’t have applesauce, so I can’t make this tonight, but I just love clicking a random link and finding your blog! love it!

  2. Pingback: Ultimate Weight Watchers Recipes Collection (Plus Tools to Get You Started and Keep You on Track!)

Leave a Reply

