Chinese Noodle Soup with Chicken and Arugula

Photo Courtesy of: Jess Costantini from Beautiful Orange Productions

Anyone who knows me knows that I love Asian food. And those closest to me know that I love soup. I could eat it every day for lunch! It’s not so helpful when I’m trying not to be boring an monotonous, but it DOES help when I need something quick, hearty, filling and relatively low in points.

I found this recipe for Chinese Noodle Soup in my WW Cookbook and I was dying to try it! I ended up changing things around a bit and adding some new ingredients and changing portion sizes of ingredients, so it really ended up being a completely new soup! And it was gooood. We ate every last bite!  The arugula was a fantastic addition with it’s mustardy/peppery bite.  It was definitely hearty, full of flavor, and made us feel quite content afterward. How can I NOT share such a tasty bit of happiness with you?  I mentioned it in an earlier post, so…. Teresa, this happiness is especially for you!

Chinese Noodle Soup with Chicken and Arugula
Servings: 3 (2 heaping cups per serving! you seriously get a whole bowlful!)
PointsPlus Per Serving: 8
Calories Per Serving: 580


  • 3 1/2 cups chicken broth, 1 PP
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 2 tbsp low sodium soy sauce
  • 1 clove garlic, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 chicken breast, 6 PP
  • 1 tsp red chili oil, 1 PP
  • 2 tsp dark sesame oil, divided, 2 PP
  • 3 cups sliced up bok choy (or chinese cabbage!)
  • 1 cup matchstick cut carrots
  • 2 cups cooked asian noodle of your choice (I recommend glass/bean thread noodles), 12 PP
  • 1 handful arugula
  • 2 scallions thinly sliced (optional)
  • salt and pepper to taste

1. If you haven’t prepared your noodles yet, prepare as instructed and set aside.

2. Cut chicken into bite sized pieces. Put red chili oil and 1 tsp sesame oil in a small skillet. Cook chicken in it until just until completely cooked through. Turn off burner and set aside.

3. Combine broth, scallions (if you’re using them), sliced garlic, ground ginger, soy sauce, garlic powder, a bit of salt and pepper and other tsp of sesame oil in a large saucepan and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for about 3 minutes.

4. Add bok choy and carrots. Simmer for about 7 minutes.

5. Stir in chicken, noodles and arugula. Simmer until arugula is wilted, about 2 minutes longer. Serve hot and enjoy!

Photo Courtesy of: Jess Costantini from Beautiful Orange Productions

3 responses

  1. Yayyy! I’m so glad you posted the recipe for this. It looks like something I could really enjoy. Any excuse to buy the lovely arugula that will be growing soon this spring! :) I’ve heard rumors about how bok choy is good for breast health, but I haven’t seen any peer reviewed articles on it yet. Thanks for yet another dose of inspration, RWWF style!

Leave a Reply

