Curried Chicken Corn Chowder

A beautiful, tasty bowl of some awesome soup!

Sometimes it’s just a soup day. You wake up in the morning, get ready for work, walk outside and realize you want soup today. It could be the lingering winter chill in the air or a dreariness to the day that convinces you that a night on the couch with a bowl of soup is literally the only way you can end your evening…. Or maybe you’re just like me and you love soup! Either way, today you are getting a soup recipe.

I’ve been on a bit of a recipe binge these last few days. I’ve made brown sugar ham and arugula crepes, crisp pecan cookies, a chicken and veggie general tso’s stir-fry and now this soup. Every time I open up my cookbooks there is something new to try! And since yesterday was a soup day and I just happened to have all the recipes in my fridge, I knew exactly what I was going to make.

This recipe comes from my Cooking Light Complete Cookbook (like so many of my other favorite recipes!), but I did modify it a bit. I followed the recipe exactly, but cut the servings in half and after eating and discussing it with my #1 taste tester (my girlfriend), we thought a few changes were needed. So here’s our modified version. It’s sure to make you feel all warm and satisfied!

Calorie break-down: 32% fat, 42% carbs, 26% protein.

Curried Chicken Corn Chowder
Servings: 3 (2 cups each)
PointsPlus Per Serving: 9
Calories Per Serving: 479


  • 1 chicken breast, cubed and cooked with a bit of garlic and curry powder, then roughly chopped, 6 PP
  • 1 tbsp olive oil (for cooking the chicken), 4 PP
  • 3 cups corn kernels (frozen or fresh), 12 PP
  • 1 half yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 jalapeno, seeded and chopped (2 if you want more spice!)
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 3 cups chicken broth (reduced sodium), 1 PP
  • 1 tbsp light butter, 2 PP
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour, 3 PP
  • 1/3 cup 1% milk, 1 PP
  • 2 tbsp fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper

1. Make sure your chicken is prepared first; put in a bowl and set aside. Melt butter in a Dutch oven over medium heat. Add onion, garlic and jalapeno; cook 10 minutes, stirring frequently.

2. Add curry; cook 30 seconds, stirring constantly. Add broth and corn; bring to a boil, stirring occasionally. Reduce heat; simmer 15 minutes.

3. Lightly spoon flour into a dry measuring cup, and level with a knife. Place flour in a small bowl; gradually add milk, stirring with a whisk until well blended to form a slurry. Stir slurry into corn mixture, and bring to a boil. Cook 3 minutes or until mixture thickens, stirring frequently.

4. Stir in chicken, cilantro, salt, and black pepper. Cook until thoroughly heated.

2 responses

  1. That looks delicious! I am totally a soup person. This weekend, I’m doing my official “end of winter” soup using roasted winter squash, onions, carrots, and potatoes. This is roasted in the oven at 400 until they’re cooked an browned a bit, pureed, and thinned out with chicken broth. It’s a great alternative to the heavy-cream laden squash soups out there. The potatoes give it some smooth creaminess on their own.

Leave a Reply

