Bacon Tomato Cheese Frittata

Click here to go to this recipe from “Point-less” Meals!

For someone who hates monotony, breakfast can be…. frustrating. On average, you have about five options: cereal, something with eggs, pancakes/waffles, yogurt, meat-product of some kind. That doesn’t even cover a whole week! So, if you want to make breakfast less monotonous, you really have to be creative (different kinds of omelets doesn’t count. It’s still an OMELET.)

Some of my awesome Reluctant Foodies and I struggle with breakfasts, so I went on a search for a recipe that looked tasty and wouldn’t be too boring… and I think I found one! This one DOES have eggs, but it’s no omelet. It’s a frittata. Now THAT’S a fun word! When you tell someone you had a frittata for breakfast, they most likely will not think “BORING.” This recipe comes from the “Point-less” Meals blog. I haven’t had a chance to make it yet, but it’s in my plans for this week!

Click here to go to this recipe from Chaos in the Kitchen!

When you are making this, remember that you need an OVEN-PROOF skillet pan. No melty skillet handles, please. Also, this is just bacon, tomato and cheese. If you don’t like one of those ingredients or you don’t have one on hand, you can always substitute it for something else. Not a fan of turkey bacon? Try canadian bacon or regular bacon (just recount the points). No tomato? My mom would put in asparagus! I might put in sauteed spinach or even some broccoli. Don’t like onion? Just take it out and add some garlic powder to the mix or add scallions (they aren’t quite as oniony). And as always, I recommend adding some Goya Adobo spice to pump up the flavor!  This is especially helpful when trying to break up the monotony.  I’ll probably add some of that, a bit of extra garlic powder and some chili powder when I make this.  Yum!

Bacon Tomato Cheese Frittata
Servings: 4
PointsPlus Per Serving: 5

Ingredients

  • 3 eggs, 6 PP
  • 3 egg whites, 1 PP
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 large tomato, seeded and chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 cup skim milk, 2 PP
  • 8 slices turkey bacon, 6 PP
  • 1 cup fat-free shredded cheddar cheese, 4 PP

Click here to go to this recipe from Closet Cooking!

Directions
1. Preheat broiler.

2. Heat a 10″ oven-proof nonstick skillet coated with cooking spray. (OVEN-PROOF, otherwise it will melt!)  Put in the onion and cooked for 2 minutes.  Then roughly chop up the turkey bacon and put in the pan with the onion.  Finish cooking for about 3 more minutes.  Add in tomato and cook for another minute.

3. Whisk together eggs, salt, pepper and milk.  Stir in cheese.  Pour into skillet over the fillings and cook on medium heat until the bottom is set and firm (8-10 minutes).

4. Place under broiler for 3 minutes or until top is set.  Cut into 4 wedges.  Enjoy!

2 responses

  1. These breakfast recipes all look wonderful! Thanks for finding them Angela! I do think I love breakfast the best. I love omelets more…yes, I made omelets almost every Sunday morning breakfast with the family while you were growing up, so I can see how you could be bored with them! But it’s just such a joy to wait till the right moment of firmness when you can fold all those yummy tastes into it and Voila! time to enjoy! Last Sunday, I made Dad and I smoked trout omelets…YUM! Trust me, though, I will try these too, because they look wonderful!

Leave a Reply

