Browned Brussels Sprouts

Paired with Herbed Peas and Everyday Adobo Chicken!

I’ve really become quite close with brussels sprouts. Ummm, we’re like best friends. They are so fun and tasty! No soggy, lying-in-butter brussels sprouts in my house. I make sure they’re flavorful and firm. I find it strangely satisfying to prepare brussels sprouts. Maybe it’s the fact that they look like Barbie cabbages. Maybe it’s the beautiful green layered look that they have, or maybe it’s the crunch they give when I slice them in half. Either way, they are awesome and I will cook them for the rest of my life!

As much as I love the balsamic glazed brussels sprouts with turkey bacon, I try to stay away from the monotony of repeated dishes. We all need a little less monotony in our lives, especially when you’re trying to be healthy!  I looked through my Cooking Light cookbook and saw this recipe for a quick veggie side dish.  It looked great (albeit quite similar), so I gave it a go!  They turned out great, so I thought I would share it with you.

Perfectly browned!

Browned Brussels Sprouts
Servings: 2
PointsPlus Per Serving: 4


  • 1 lb brussels sprouts, 4 PP when cooked
  • 1 tbsp olive oil, 4 PP
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 3 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

Just added to the pan!

1. Heat oil in a pan over medium high heat (cast iron or non-stick).

2. Clean up brussels sprouts; trim ends and slice in half. Add to pan along with salt and garlic. Stir and cook for about 15 minutes or until lightly browned.

3. Add balsamic vinegar. Cook for another few minutes. Serve hot!

It really doesn’t get much easier than this.  And you can really do the same type of thing to other vegetables.  Try this recipe with green beans or broccoli.  Add another spice if you want to change it up just a little.  Or try a different vinegar.  Vegetables are really quite easy to cook, especially when they’re fresh.  Make sure to plan on going to your local farmers market this summer!  The vegetables there are the best ones to cook with!

Leave a Reply

