Snowpocalypse Hot Cocoa

Photo Courtesy of: Jess Costantini from Beautiful Orange Productions

In case you haven’t heard, the plains of the USA are being attacked by Mother Nature.  30 of the 50 states are being pelted with icy rain, sleet, hail and tons of snow.  It’s a snowpocalypse.  I have a history of falling on my keester during the winter time and, frankly, I don’t want to do that today.  So, I’m working from home.  Aaaannndd, I’m making hot cocoa from scratch!

There’s not a lot you can do to mess up hot cocoa (as long as you’re not putting in weird things like lemon or garlic).  In order to make it WWF, I used truvia and honey to replace 2 of the tbsp of sugar that would normally go into hot cocoa. If you’re not sure what truvia is, it’s a natural sweetener made from the stevia plant that doesn’t wreak havoc on those of us who are lucky enough to have an intolerance to fake sugar substitutes like splenda (when I say “intolerance”, BOY do I mean it!. I can’t even eat sugar-free candies and mints anymore).

I just whipped this together, poured it in my favorite mug and enjoyed the warmth as is entered my belly!  What better way to enjoy the snowpocalypse??

Photos Courtesy of: Jess Costantini from Beautiful Orange Productions

Snowpocalypse Hot Cocoa
Servings: 3
PointsPlus Per Serving: 5


  • 3 cups 1% milk, 8 PP
  • 4 tbsp unsweetened cocoa, 2 PP
  • 2 tbsp sugar, 3 PP
  • 8 packets truvia, 1 PP
  • 1 tsp honey, 1 PP
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp chili powder

1. Pour all ingredients into a medium pan over medium heat.

2. Whisk it occasionally until nice and warm. Whisk extra hard at the end if you want a little extra frothy foam.

3. Top with whipped cream or marshmallows if you like! (Just count the points)

If you want to thicken it up a bit, add 1 tbsp of masa harina to the mix and let it simmer for a few minutes.  You can also add 1 tsp vanilla extract (or any other extract for that matter) to add some more flavor.  If I hadn’t run out of vanilla extract, I would have put some in!  Try almond, coconut or hazelnut for a bit of a mellow, nutty twist.

Photo Courtesy of: Jess Costantini from Beautiful Orange Productions

Leave a Reply

