Mexican Meatloaf

“Meatloaf” is not a word that makes me feel joy.  Usually it makes me cringe.  The thought of a “loaf of meat” reminds me of those bad school lunches they fed us in the cafeteria.  As accurate as the name is to it’s result, meat loaf is not a dish I’ve ever wanted to make.

Now, MEXICAN meatloaf is a whole other story.  The word “mexican” does indeed make me feel joy.  It gets me thinking about spices, peppers, cheese and all the wonderful dishes I get at local Mexican restaurants.  If the meatloaf is Mexican, you can bet your buppies I’ll at least try it!  (Does that make me a meatloaf elitist?)

I saw this recipe when I first started Weight Watchers, but it’s taken three months to gather all the ingredients into my kitchen.  Why?  Simply because of the name.  My apprehension towards the name kept me from sitting down and figuring out which ingredients to buy!  Silly me.  I had no idea it would be so delicious.  When I told my girlfriend of my impending plan to make Mexican meatloaf for dinner, she cringed and said “I’m not really in a ‘meatloaf’ mood….”  But I said too bad so sad!  If I was making the dinner, I was picking the dish.  Plus, we needed to use up the fresh meat before it went bad.  My determination paid off and after her first bite she praised God for such a wonderful combination of flavors (as in “oh my GOD, this is so good!”).  With that exclamation, I knew I’d have to give you all the recipe.  I made a few additions because I thought it still needed a little something, so remember, you can always make your own additions too!

A big slice of heaven.

Mexican Meatloaf
Servings: 6
PointsPlus Per Serving: 5

Ingredients

  • 1/2 pound lean ground beef, raw, 10 PP
  • 1/2 pound lean ground turkey breast, raw, 7 PP
  • 2 large egg whites, 1 PP
  • 1 cup cornbread dry mix, 5 PP
  • 1 medium onion, finely chopped
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/4 tsp ground cumin
  • 4 oz can diced green chiles
  • 1 can enchilada sauce (8-10 oz), 2 PP
  • 1 cup corn kernels, 4 PP
  • 1/2 medium jalapeno, finely diced

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 375°F. Coat a broiler pan with cooking spray.

2. In a large bowl, mix beef, turkey, egg whites, cornbread mix, jalapeno, corn, onion, chili powder, cumin, chilies and half of enchilada sauce together. Shape into an oval with your hands and place on prepared broiler pan. (I just plopped it onto the pan and shaped it there. It was too loose and too much to do it before putting on the pan.)

3. Cook for 1 hour, top with remaining enchilada sauce and bake for 5 minutes more. Slice into 6 pieces and serve.

This is it right out of the oven. Don’t be afraid. It tastes WAAAAY better than it looks right here!

It was sweet, savory, saucy, amazing and oh so delicious. I definitely recommend the added corn and jalapenos! I would make this again tomorrow if my girlfriend didn’t mind repetition of a meal within a week! But alas, she does. So that leftover pound of meat will become savory stuff burgers. Another recipe for another day. Enjoy!

4 responses

  1. Pingback: Week 29 Weigh-In | Motion and Rest

Leave a Reply

