Chicken Francais

I’ve never really been a fan of cooked or baked lemon-flavored things. Lemon squares? Forget it. NY Cheesecake with a slight lemony flavor? Totally ruins it for me. Probably because of those citrus-flavored dramamines I always had to take before car trips when I was a kid (even though I usually ended up puking anyway). But sour lemon candies and tart lemonade are practically made for my mouth. I like a mix of half coke zero and half lemonade when I can get it. If I have a lemon in my coke at a restaurant, I eventually end up fishing the lemon out of the leftover ice and eating the coke-soaked fruit. I can eat those sour warheads until my tongue hurts too much to have anymore. I’m weird. I know it.

When I saw this recipe for Chicken Francais in my CL cookbook, I was a bit apprehensive. It called for a bit more lemon juice than I thought was necessary, but I do trust that cookbook, so I figured I would give it a fighting chance. I whipped it up after a long day of driving and shopping, added a side of rice and broccoli and dug in.

I was pleasantly surprised! This chicken is light, lemony and a lovely entree to have when you’re feeling like doing something a little different. It’s made up of a lot of ingredients that you probably have just sitting around at home. And it gives you a great excuse to open up a bottle of pinot grigio or chardonnay :)

Browning up beautifully in the pan!

Chicken Francais
Servings: 8
PointsPlus Per Serving: 5


  • 3/4 cup fat-free egg substitute (or 6 egg whites), 4 PP
  • 1 oz freshly grated parmesan cheese, 1 PP
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped parsley (or 4 tsp dried)
  • 1/2 cup white wine, 3 PP
  • 5 tbsp fresh lemon juice, 1 PP
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • about 6 dashes of tabasco sauce
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 4 chicken breasts, cut in half (so you have a top and bottom), 22 PP
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour, 3 PP
  • 1 tbsp olive oil, 4 PP
  • 2 tbsp light butter, 3 PP

1. Combine first 8 ingredients in a dish.

2. Place each chicken breast half between 2 sheets of plastic wrap, and pound to 1/4-inch thickness using a meat mallet or rolling pin. Discard plastic wrap. dredge chicken in flour, and dip in egg substitute mixture.

3. Heat 1 1/2 tsp oil in a large nonstick skillet coated with cooking spray over medium heat. Add 4 chicken breast halves; cook 4 minutes on each side or until done. Remove from pan, and keep warm. Wipe drippings from pan with a paper towel. Repeat procedure with 1 1/2 tsp olive oil and remaining chicken breast halves.

4. Melt butter in pan; add 1/4 cup wine and 3 tbsp lemon juice. Bring to a boil; cook 10 seconds. Serve immediately over chicken.

One more tasty close-up for the road!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

