Harvest Apple Chicken

Oh chicken, how I love thee. It’s a meat that soaks up so much flavor and gives you lots of protein in the process! I blogged about stuffing chicken with all sorts of different things to keep it from getting so monotonous…. so, I tried it!

I did something much different than what you usually see stuffed into chicken and it was actually really tasty!  This dish is great paired with the balsamic brussels sprouts or just a nice roasted winter squash and a salad.

Harvest Apple Chicken
Servings: 2
PointsPlus Per Serving: 6

 

Ingredients

  • 1 chicken breast, boneless/skinless, 6 PP
  • 2 tbsp 1/3 less fat cream cheese, 2 PP
  • 3 tbsp reduced fat feta cheese, 1 PP
  • 1/2 small apple (fiji, gala, granny smith), diced
  • 1 tbsp sliced almonds, 1 PP
  • 1 tsp unpacked light brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp bbq seasoning (or sauce if you don’t have a seasoning)
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • cooking twine or toothpicks

Directions
1. Mix together all these ingredients except the chicken until it’s nice and creamy. Taste it and add extra salt, pepper or seasoning until it reaches your liking.

Stuffed, tied and ready to go in the skillet!

2. Slice chicken in half horizontally so that you have two equal, thin pieces of chicken. Get a long piece of saran wrap and loosely sandwich one piece of chicken between. Take a meat tenderizer or something else that has a flat side to it and flatten out the chicken to about 1/4 inch thick. Do it to both pieces.

3. Get a skillet going on medium high heat and pour in a tsp of canola or olive oil and spray the rest of the pan with Pam. While it’s heating up, take the cream cheese apple mixture and split it into two. Stuff it into the chicken and secure with either twine or a toothpick. It will be pretty stuffed, so twine might be the better option.

Sizzle Sizzle, Baby.

4. Put chicken in heated pan, drizzle some more balsamic vinegar over top and cook for about 15-20 minutes! Wait until it’s almost cooked through to cook on the sides. I tried to make sure that the open ends were touching each time I put it on it’s side to cook. Serve immediately after cooking and enjoy!

I actually put it directly into the skillet that I used to make the balsamic brussels sprouts so that the flavors would blend!  It also kept me from having to dirty another dish.  Less dishes is always a good thing.  I haven’t quite figured out how to cook without using a lot of dishes.  I also don’t exactly enjoy doing dishes…. Not quite an awesome combination.  Oh well, at least the food is good!

4 responses

  1. I just tried this recipe for lunch, it was EXCELLENT. Probably the best thing I’ve every cooked.

    I didn’t have all the exact ingredients, so I subbed goat cheese for feta, pecans for almonds, a pear instead of an apple, and used regular cream cheese! I’d never thought to tenderize a chicken breast and wrap it in twine…so good…my roommates loved it too!

Leave a Reply

