Breakfast and Bliss

I am experiencing bliss right now (technically, it was last night, but for the sake of the entry, just pretend it’s in the present tense =P).  My belly is full of surprisingly tasty food from Ruby Tuesdays (top sirloin steak, lobster tail, salad, mashed potatoes and broccoli!), I’m watching Julie and Julia with all my adorable furry babies and my lovely girlfriend and I’m writing in my blog!  I also got some more tasty groceries from the store, INCLUDING masa flour to make homemade tortillas with!!

This bliss is well deserved.  Why?  Because I worked out at the gym today!  I have to thank two of my awesome co-workers for inviting my girlfriend and I to come along!  Knowing that they were expecting me (since I said yes without thinking) kept me from backing out.  No one likes a work-out no-show!  I did two miles on the treadmill and about 40 minutes in the weight machine room.  I’ve gotta get started on that toning or those arm wings and thigh puffs will never go away!  I’m not looking forward to the soreness tomorrow, but I’m definitely looking forward to the end result.

So we’ve talked about bliss, but what about breakfast??  Well, many of you may not know this, but my girlfriend is a whiz with breakfasts.  In order to entice my lazy butt to get out of bed in the mornings, she used to make coffee and breakfast sandwiches with Canadian bacon, egg and cheese on a multigrain english muffin.  Yummo!  Needless to say, I converted.  My not-as-lazy butt gets up around 7:15 every weekday now (except when I stay up late playing mahjong on my droid!).  Anyway, she was inspired one morning when she looked in the fridge and saw the goetta that we bought in Cinci after Dad made it for breakfast during Christmas break. Goetta is a German food made of ground meats and pinhead oats.  It’s so good!  Her brain went a spinning and her hands went a cooking and my taste buds went A YUMMY!  It was tasty and filling and really got me through the morning without needing to have a snack!  She said I could share the recipe with you!  Without further ado….

Bella’s G.P.E. Breakfast Sandwich
Servings: 1
PointsPlus Per Serving: 9

Ingredients

  • Goetta, 2 slices (2 oz), 5 points
  • Polenta, 2 slices (2 oz), 1 point
  • 1 egg, 2 points
  • 1 slice reduced-fat cheese (american or cheddar), 1 point

Directions
1. Warm up a skillet pan and spray with cooking spray. Once warmed, put slices of goetta and polenta on it and brown them on both sides. About 7 minutes. Take off and put them on your plate. Cover.

2. Cook egg to your liking. Top with cheese and let it melt. Putting a lid over the egg and cheese for about 1/2 a minute melts it nice and fast.

3. Stack in this order – polenta, goetta, egg/cheese, goetta, polenta. Eat with a knife and fork!

If you happen to find some lower fat goetta or turkey goetta, that will adjust your PointsPlus. Same thing if you use just an egg white or egg beaters. It’s just such a tasty dish and so filling that using regular goetta and egg is worth it! You probably won’t even need salt. The flavor of the goetta provides enough of that.

**This blog post is officially marked in history on Foodista; the Wikipedia of the foodie world. Thanks to the foodie blog roll on the sidebar of my blog, someone from Foodista came across this entry and now I’m included in the list of bloggers who’ve blogged about goetta. How ridiculously awesome is that!?!?!**
Goetta on Foodista

2 responses

  1. First time I came across with goetta, and that sure looks delicious.I came across your site from the foodieblogroll and I’d love to guide Foodista readers to your site. I hope you could add this goetta widget at the end of this post so we could add you in our list of food bloggers who blogged about goetta,Thanks!

Leave a Reply

