Roasted Rosemary and Balsamic Butternut Squash

Photo Courtesy of:

I have close to 10 pounds of butternut squash in my cabinet.  Why, you ask?  Because it’s tasty and when I bought it at the farmers market this fall I knew it would last for quite a long time!  We’ve probably gone through close to 15 pounds of butternut squash since August.  It’s such a wonderful sweet flavor and so easy to make that we bought a bunch!  One of the squash weighs in at SIX POUNDS!  I have no idea when I’ll be using it…. I might have to cube it up and freeze it!  Oh, that’s a good idea.  I’ll have to do that after I finish this entry.

Anyway, since I have sooooo much butternut squash, I figured I would look through my “favorites” list on Foodgawker to see if I could find a savory recipe to post on here.  I found a delicious one!  It comes from Kalyn’s Kitchen and I am very excited to share it with you.

Roasted Rosemary and Balsamic Butternut Squash
Servings: 5
Points Per Serving: 5 (although I’m questioning the recipe builder on the WW site because when I entered in the butternut squash (with a zero point value) it gave it a points value of 11! I’ll get back to you on this issue.)


  • 2 lbs butternut squash cubes (about 6 cups)
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 5 tsp best quality balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tsp very finely chopped fresh or frozen rosemary, or slightly less dried rosemary (be sure it’s especially finely chopped if you use dried rosemary)
  • sea salt to taste
  • fresh ground black pepper to taste

1. Preheat oven to 400 F/200C. Mix together the olive oil, 4 tsp balsamic vinegar, and rosemary, then toss squash cubes with the mixture.

2. Arrange the squash on a cookie sheet or dish large enough to hold it in a single layer. Roast 20 minutes, then turn squash and roast about 20 minutes more, or until squash is very soft and starting to get slightly caramelized.

3. Remove from oven and toss squash with additional 1 tsp balsamic vinegar, sea salt, and pepper. You can mash slightly if you want. Serve hot.

See? Easy peasy! It can be made ahead of time and taken out the next day to be warmed up once more. It’s a great side dish for all holiday meals, or just as a tasty pairing with chicken and lamb. It’s also nice to post a savory butternut squash recipe rather than one that’s chocked full of brown sugar and butter, which is pretty typical of butternut squash recipes. It’s Weight Watchers friendly and South Beach Diet friendly too! Not only is it tasty, but it’s beautiful! I hope you enjoy.

Oh, and until I get back to you all with the points dilemma, it’s either 5 points per serving or 2 points per serving. Quite a difference, eh!?! I hope WW gets back to me soon! Or I’m gonna have to go all crazy woman on their patooties.

3 responses

  1. Ms. Reluctant Weight Watchers Foodie
    I have been looking for some really good chicken recipes… but nothing sounds good.. I want something different and good ( like all of us do )… do you have any ideas?… thanks :)

  2. Looks yummy. Here’s another savoury recipe to try:

    Smooth butternut-ginger soup

    1 medium onion
    1 small-medium butternut squash, peeled, deseeded, and cubed
    1 two-inch piece of fresh ginger, peeled
    stock (boiling) of your choosing (I use vegetable)

    Saute onion in a tiny amount of oil (again, your choice) until translucent.
    Add squash, ginger, and enough stock to cover vegetables.
    Simmer for 30 minutes.
    Fish out the piece of ginger.
    Blend until smooth.

    Enjoy! I often put the piece of ginger back in when I store it in the fridge so it gets really gingery. It goes really well with toast and goat cheese. :)

    love, Lizzie x

Leave a Reply

