Honey Sweetened Beef Stew

Remember how I posted an entry about how one of my favorite foodie things is crockpots?  Well, I did another crockpot meal!  This one was adapted and slightly modified from a recipe I found while perusing the Weight Watchers website.

The recipe was for Tzimmes, which is traditionally a Jewish dish.  It involved prunes and lots of honey, but I didn’t have prunes (since I don’t need help with my digestion….) so I omitted them and changed up a couple of other things.  I actually went temporarily crazy and got everything together, turned the crock pot onto low and sat down to work for about an hour and a half.  I got up to check it and saw that I forgot to plug in the crockpot!  Yeah…. so I put it on high and it cooked for about 6 hours on high.  Too long and too hot.  It still turned out great, although it was a bit mushy.  That’s one thing I haven’t figured out just yet.  When do I stop cooking it on low/high and just put it on warm?  I just keep it cooking and then I end up with tasty mush.  Never the less, I wanted to use up my stew cubes and I wanted to stay away from the balsamic flavoring (since I typically use it for beef soups) and try something a bit different!  Remember, I don’t like monotony with my food!  You can only have beef stew so many times before your throat won’t let it down anymore.  Um, and always make sure you have your crockpot plugged in, otherwise it defeats the whole point of “cooking” in one.

This dish was tasty, with hints of cinnamon and honey, and it was definitely nice and warm on a cold day.  My substitutions cut down the points from 11 to 8!  Schwiggity schweeeet!  The beef was definitely the tastiest part of this dish.  Who knew that sweetened beef was such a great flavor?  It makes me want to try more sweet beef dishes.  Maybe make up my own sweet beef marinade….  All right.  Now that I’ve strayed slightly, I’ll give you the recipe so I can get back to mixing and matching flavors in my head!

Honey Sweetened Beef Stew
Servings: 6
Points Per Serving: 8


  • 1 large yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 lb trimmed beef stew cubes
  • 2 medium sweet potatoes, cubed
  • 8 small new potatoes
  • 2 medium carrots, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, diced
  • 4 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 tbsp honey
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup vegetable (or beef) broth


1. Place onion, beef, garlic, sweet potatoes, carrots, new potatoes, lemon juice and honey in a 5- to 6-quart slow cooker. Add salt, pepper, cinnamon and broth; stir well.

2. Cook on low setting for 7 to 8 hours. Yields about 1 1/2 cups of solids and gravy per serving.

See?!?! EASY PEASY! And if you feel so inclined, you should make some yummy biscuits to go with it. All those breakfast places serve honey with their biscuits (my girlfriend would eat an entire bag of Bob Evans biscuits with honey), so why not try some honey sweetened beef with yo biscuits!? Shooooot.

Leave a Reply

