Island Spice Pork Tenderloin

Photo courtesty of

I found this incredible recipe a few weeks ago while searching Foodgawker for a fun and tasty pork dish. I came across this recipe on Annie’s Eats and just HAD to try it! The ingredients were interesting and quite a variation from what I would have instinctively put together, so as someone who is committed to chasing away the monotony, it was an obvious choice!

Even as I was putting together the spice rub and the glaze ingredients I was a bit apprehensive, but I pushed forward. Each one of these ingredients is something that most people have lying around in their cabinets or refrigerators just in case. But when I finally got this bad boy in the oven, I instantly started salivating when the sweet and savory smell started floating my way. The minute my girlfriend came through the door, I had our plates ready and we dug in. Boy, did we dig in! It was amazing. I knew I had to share it with you all, but I wanted to check the points first. Really, the only difference is the amount of brown sugar, but amounts always make a difference!

So here you are.

Island Spice Pork Loin from Annie’s Eats… with a healthier twist.
Servings: 4
PointsPlus Per Serving: 7

For the spice rub:

  • 2 tsp. kosher salt
  • ½ tsp. ground black pepper
  • 1 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1 tsp. chili powder
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 2 pork tenderloins (I used 4 pre-sliced cuts that I bought, equaling 16 oz total), 17 PP
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil (she says 2, but some Pam will make up that difference without adding points), 4 PP

For the glaze:

  • 1/4 cup packed light brown sugar (she says 1/2, but I had a lot that just dripped off and it just adds an extra point per serving, so 1/4 is fine.), 6 PP
  • 1 tbsp. (2-3 cloves) finely minced garlic
  • 1½ tsp. Tabasco sauce

1. Preheat the oven to 350˚ F. Combine the salt, pepper, cumin, chili powder and cinnamon in a small bowl. Stir together with a fork to blend. Pat the mixture over the pork tenderloins.

2. Heat the olive oil in an ovenproof 12-inch skillet over medium-high heat. Place the tenderloins in the skillet and brown on all sides, turning occasionally, about 4 minutes total. Remove from the heat, leaving the pork in the skillet (or you can transfer to a glass/ceramic dish if you don’t have a skillet that can go in the oven.)

3. Stir together the brown sugar, garlic and Tabasco in a small bowl until well blended. Spread the mixture evenly over the tops of the tenderloins. (If you want more flavor infused into the meat, make a few slices in the top of the meat before you pack on the mixture.)

4. Place the skillet (or dish) in the preheated oven and roast about 20 minutes, until an instant-read thermometer inserted in the center of each tenderloin registers 140˚ F. (Or check after the 15 minutes. If it’s just got a lot of pink left, put back in for another 5 minutes. If it’s just barely pink in the center, it’s ready.) Loosely tent the skillet (or dish) with foil and let stand 10 minutes before slicing and serving.

You can thank me later.


Leave a Reply

